Champions League

  • david 

The Champions League is a continental competition that brings together domestic champions from different countries within a confederation. It is the epitome of success in the respective region and teams are always to come out on top in the continental showpiece.

UEFA Champions League

This is the elite club competition in Europe and probably the most popular Champions league in the world. It brings together giants of Europe, clubs that have had a good previous season in their home countries. Different countries produce a different number of teams depending on the allotted quota.

Teams like Barcelona, Real Madrid, Manchester United, and Bayern Munich are among UCL’s giants.

CAF Champions League

This is the competition for Africa’s champions, with teams like Al Ahly, Esperance, TP Mazembe, and Mamelodi Sundowns being regular winners.

AFC Champions League

This is the Asian version of the competition. It was introduced in 1967 as the Asian Club Championship and renamed AFC CL in 2002. Pohang Steelers and Kashima Antlers are among the competitions big names.

Copa Libertadores

This prestigious competition brings together South American club champions since 1960. It has been a largely competitive league with the likes of Independiente, River Plate, and Boca Juniors all having a go at it.